West Virginia drivers, don’t dig around for car insurance state minimums, laws you need to be aware of, or more when it’s all right here. Turn to this guide for everything you need to know about West Virginia car insurance, and find out which insurance company is best for you.
State Insurance Requirements
If you plan on owning and driving a car in West Virginia, you’ll need both liability and uninsured motorist coverage with these minimums to abide by state law:
- $10,000 for property damage
- $20,000 for bodily injury, per person
- $40,000 for bodily injury, for one crash with multiple injuries
When you call to get auto coverage, companies have to offer the maximum amount, but you only have to buy state minimums if you don’t want to go all out. For my protection consider purchasing a comprehensive coverage insurance policy, which covers more than the minimum requirements. Also consider additional coverages, such as bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist property damage coverage, which protects you when you get in an accident with an uninsured driver.
Proof of Insurance
While it’s required that you carry your Certificate of Insurance (W-1) at all times, West Virginia also has an Electronic Insurance Verification Program (WVOLV) for online auto verification in real-time. This program can be used during routine traffic stops, locations of accidents, as well as at the DMV when you are registering your vehicle.
Fines and Penalties
If you can’t prove you’re insured or don’t have auto coverage, you can face the following:
- First Offense: A fine up to $5,000 or between 15 days and 1 year in jail as well as suspension of your license until you have proven you have current insurance.
- Second Offense: If you have another run-in with the law and can’t prove you’re insured within five years of your first offense, you could get a $5,000 fine or between 15 days and 1 year in jail. Expect them to take your license away too until you can prove you’re insured.
- Third Offense: The same goes for your third offense as your second, but you’ll also have a 90-day license suspension and have to pay fees to get it back.
If you have questions regarding fines and suspensions related to driving without proof of insurance, reach out to:
WV Department of Transportation
Division of Motor Vehicles
5708 MacCorkle Ave. SE, PO Box 17020
Charleston, WV 25317
How Your Rates Are Determined
If you’re a good driver, you’ll receive vastly different quotes than a driver who has DUIs, a number of tickets, or multiple accidents. Insurance companies determine how much you pay based on your perceived risk. The higher the risk you pose as a driver, the more your premium. The lower the risk, the less you’ll pay. Here are the factors insurance companies will use:
- Past Driving Record
- The Make and Model of Your Vehicle
- Your Annual Mileage/What You Use Your Car For
- Credit Score
What West Virginians Pay For Auto Insurance
Our research shows that West Virginia drivers pay the 5th lowest rates for car insurance in the country. Here are the companies we found provided the most affordable rates on average:
|Average Annual Rates|
|American National Financial||$469.76|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Rates will fluctuate, making it important to shop around every year or two. This can ensure you aren’t overpaying.
Insurance For High-Risk Drivers
Insurance companies in West Virginia can deny you insurance if you are found to be a “high risk” driver. If this happens, you may be eligible for West Virginia’s Assigned Risk Plan. While the rates are typically higher with this insurance coverage, you are at least in compliance with the state’s insurance requirements.
Most Commonly Stolen Cars in West Virginia*
Car shopping? Take a look at this list to see if the one you have your eye on is a top stolen vehicle. If so, you could pay more in auto premiums.
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Pickup (Small)
- Ford Pickup (Small Size)
- Chevrolet Cavalier
- Jeep (Grand) Cherokee
- Ford Explorer
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Caravan
- Honda Accord
*According to www.nicb.org
West Virginia Agents Can Help
Licensed experts in West Virginia know all there is to know about auto insurance and how to explain it to customers in a way that makes sense. In addition, they can help customers compare rates from top insurance companies so that you can find the coverage you need, at a price you can afford. Call [mapi-phone /] to get started.
Before making any final decisions on your insurance company, it is important to learn as much as you can about your local insurance providers, and the coverages they offer. Call your local insurance agent to clear up any questions that you might have. Questions to consider asking include, “What is the best coverage plan for me/my family/my situation?” “What are the minimum coverage requirements in my state and what form of coverage do you recommend?” “Do you guys offer any bundle discounts if I take out both my auto insurance and home insurance with you?” “What are my coverage limits?” and “What is the average rate of insurance quotes you guys offer?”
Before making any big insurance decisions, use our free tool to compare insurance quotes near you. It’s simple, just plug in your zip code and we’ll do the rest!
Additional West Virginia Resources