You busy bees in The Beehive State probably have better things you’d like to be doing than shopping for car insurance. We don’t blame you. We’ve compiled all the information you need like car insurance state minimums, laws, coverage options, and more so you can find what you need in one place.
Utah Auto Insurance Requirements
Utahans, you live in a no-fault state. In order to meet state requirements, your insurance policy must include both personal injury protection and liability.
If you are at-fault in an accident, liability insurance is used to pay for the damage done as a result. This includes both property damage and bodily injury. That’s why when you are getting auto insurance quotes in Utah, you should confirm the policy includes the following:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person (liability)
- $65,000 for bodily injury per accident (liability)
- $15,000 for property damage (liability)
- $3,000 personal injury protection per person (PIP)
In the event you are injured in an auto accident, personal injury protection (PIP) will help to cover any medical costs, regardless of who was deemed at-fault. This is why Utah requires that your policy have a minimum limit of $3,000 per person.
Car Insurance Add-Ons
You’re abiding by the law if you elect to only have the state minimums. However, additional coverage can be included to help cover the cost of any additional unforeseen incidents. Consider including:
- Collision Coverage – Smash your car into someone else’s? This insurance helps pay for the damage.
- Comprehensive – Get this coverage to pay for damage if you hit a deer or have someone smash up your car. It pays for a lot more too.
Proving You’re Insured
Utah DMV partners with Insure-Rite a company that compares insurance policies with registered vehicles. If you’re not insured, the DMV will know about it. Then, you’ll have to prove you’re insured or your registration will be taken away. To get it back, you’ll have to:
- Pay a $100.00 reinstatement fee
- Pay the $100 fee and get it refunded if you were insured all along
Driving Without Insurance
Proving you have insurance is one thing, driving without it is another. Get caught driving without car insurance in Utah and you can expect some bad stuff to come your way, like:
- First Offense: $400 minimum fine
- Second Offense: $1,000 minimum fine
- After convicted of driving without a license, you’ll be monitored for three years by the Utah Department of Public Safety. If you drop insurance during that time, they’ll take away your license.
How Your Insurance Premiums Are Calculated
How much you pay is a calculation of your risk. You’ll pay more if you seem like a high-risk driver and less if you’re deemed low-risk behind the wheel. Here’s what insurance companies will use to determine this for you:
- Driving History: traffic violations, auto accidents
- Car Information: make, model, year, use
- Demographics: age, gender, address
Average Insurance Premiums in Utah
Utahans, do you know what your neighbors are paying for car insurance? Unless you’re reading their mail, probably not. We’ve done the research for you and found the average rates for popular insurance providers. Here are the companies we found to provide the most affordable rates.
|Average Annual Rates|
|Bear River Mutual Insurance||$1,108.70|
|Auto Owners Group||$1,376.10|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Ways To Save In Utah
Why pay full price when you don’t have to? Here are popular discounts you should ask about when you’re policy shopping to get cheaper rates:
- Safe driver discount
- Good student discount
- Multi-car discount
- Multi-policy discount
- E-pay discount
- Homeowners discount
- Claims free discount
Most Stolen Cars in Utah
Remember how we said that risk makes premiums go up? Well, driving one of these top stolen cars will do that too*:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Nissan Altima
- Subaru Legacy
- Acura Integra
- Toyota Camry
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
*According to www.nicb.org
Talk To Agents Who Are Actually Humans
Insurance agents know the ins-and-outs of auto insurance in Utah, and can break it down in a way that makes sense to you. Whether you have additional questions, or you are ready to start comparing quotes from top companies, call [mapi-phone /].
Before making any final decisions on your insurance company, it is important to learn as much as you can about your local insurance providers, and the coverages they offer. Call your local insurance agent to clear up any questions that you might have. Questions to consider asking include, “What is the best coverage plan for me/my family/my situation?” “What are the minimum coverage requirements in my state and what form of coverage do you recommend?” “Do you guys offer any bundle discounts if I take out both my auto insurance and home insurance with you?” and “What is the average rate of insurance quotes you guys offer?”
Before making any big insurance decisions, use our free tool to compare insurance quotes near you. It’s simple, just plug in your zip code and we’ll do the rest!
Utah Driver Resources