Rhode Island may be small, but that doesn’t mean drivers should be left out of the loop. We are bringing Rhode Island drivers all the information you need to know—and none that they don’t. No pushy sales pitches, no confusing topics. We’ve researched state minimums, laws, discounts, and more to design this resource page just for you.
Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements
To stay in good standing with the law, you’ll need bodily injury liability, property damage liability, and uninsured/underinsured coverage as a Rhode Island driver. That’s because Rhode Island is an at-fault state, so if you cause an accident, your insurance is responsible for the damages. Your policy will need these minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage, per person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage, total per accident
- $25,000 for property damage liability per accident
Additional Car Insurance Coverage in Rhode Island
No one ever complained about having too much coverage after an accident. Make sure you’re safe and sound financially after an accident or incident by getting including additional coverage, such as:
Comprehensive Coverage – What if next season’s hurricane floods your car or what if a vandal breaks your windows? This coverage is there to help pay for that.
Collision Coverage – If you get into an accident and your car is banged up, this insurance will help pay for damages.
Towing and labor coverage – You might need a tow after an accident and if you do, this coverage will help pay for it.
Rental car coverage – Get a rental car paid for if yours isn’t drivable after an accident by buying this coverage.
Violations And Penalties
Don’t drive without insurance. If you’re caught, you can face the following consequences:
- Suspension of your license
- Suspension of license plates and registration
- A $500 fine for your first and second offense
- A $1,000 fine for third and all other offenses
- Up to a year in jail
Why Your Premiums Cost What They Do
Insurance companies want to know what kind of driver you are before you sign a policy. Using millions of data points, they can assess your risk to and therefore, your premium. Insurance companies do differ in what factors they put the most emphasis on. For example, one company may determine that and older driver is a lot less risky and will give that person a lower rate. Whereas another company may not even look at age when determining insurance rates. Here is a small snapshot of some of the variables companies use to determine insurance rates in Rhode Island:
- Insurance history
- Driving/claims record
- Make and model of your vehicle
- Use of your car
- Credit score
What Rhode Islanders Pay For Auto Insurance
For a relatively affordable cost, auto insurance provides you tens of thousands of dollars in coverage. That doesn’t mean you should ever overpay though. Here is where we found the cheapest insurance rates:
|Average Annual Rates|
How To Save On Auto Insurance
Saving money is smart. Lucky for drivers, there are numerous auto insurance discounts that can decrease your premium. Here are some popular discounts you should see if you qualify for when comparing quotes:
- Multiple vehicle discount
- Good student discount
- Auto and home package discount
- Low mileage discount
- Multi-car discount
- E-pay discount
- Safe driver discount
Did You Know?
Rates go up if you get a ticket and if you drive a car that’s commonly stolen. We don’t want to scare you into selling your car if it’s on this list, but we wanted to point it out. Here are the most stolen cars in Rhode Island*:
- Nissan Maxima
- Honda Accord
- Dodge Caravan
- Honda Civic
- Toyota Camry
- Nissan Altima
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Toyota Corolla
- Plymouth Voyager
- Ford Pickup
*According to www.nicb.org
Speak With Rhode Island Agents
Still have questions about your car insurance or are you ready to start shopping? Our licensed agents know the ins-and-out of Rhode Island auto insurance and can explain it to you in a way that clicks. They can also get you free quotes from top companies so you can begin comparing rates. Don’t pay more than you have to. Call 855-462-2213 to talk to an agent today.
Rhode Island Driver Resources