Do you need to know that cars have an average of 30,000 parts? Probably not. You just need to know how to protect every piece. We’re here to tell you the inside scoop on state requirements, laws, and more below–so that you and your car are protected in Oregon.
State Requirements for Car Insurance in Oregon
If you’re driving in Oregon, state law requires you have the following coverage on your policy to maintain good legal standing:
Bodily injury liability:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for total bodily injury to others per accident
Property damage liability:
- $20,000 for property damage per accident.
Personal injury protection (PIP):
- $15,000 per person
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per crash
Auto Insurance Add-Ons
Oregon mandates drivers have a lot of coverage, but the more insurance you have, the safer you’ll be from having to pay out-of-pocket in the case of an accident or incident. Take a look at the following options to see if adding these popular coverages makes sense for you:
Collision Coverage- If your car hits something or something hits you, this coverage can help pay for it.
Comprehensive Coverage– Whether a vandal smashes your windshield, a storm totals your car, or other bad stuff happens, this coverage can help pay for damages.
Rental car coverage- Get your insurance to pay for a rental car if your car is in the shop after an accident.
Violation and Penalties
Driving without insurance is not only dangerous, but it’s illegal. If you’re caught without insurance or less than the minimum amounts, you may face the following consequences:
- Driver’s license suspension for a year if you’re uninsured
- Towing of your car and responsible for towing/storage fees
- If you get into an accident and you’re uninsured, you’ll have to file an SR-22 for three full years following to prove you’re insured. This comes with even more fees for processing and is a pain for you.
What Oregonians Pay For Auto Insurance
Auto insurance rates ebb and flow like the tide. Shopping around can help guarantee you aren’t overpaying. A good rule of thumb is to get quotes from three different companies or more—and to check back in every year or so to see if you can get a cheaper premium.
We analyzed auto insurance rates in Oregon and on average, drivers are paying $1,459 for car insurance. Based on our research, these are the cheapest companies for drivers in Oregon:
|Average Annual Rates|
|Oregon Mutual Insurance||$894.95|
Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Those with less than spotless driving records can be labeled as high-risk drivers. To insurance companies, this means you’re a liability. While insurance companies can deny you coverage in the open market place, thanks to the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP), you can find coverage. Your premium will be higher until you can clean your record with time, but at least you’ll satisfy legal requirements.
If you’re worried that your insurance company isn’t obeying the law, you can contact the Oregon Insurance Division online.
Or by mail or fax.
Did You Know?
Car thieves tend to target certain makes and models more than others. Drive one of these top stolen cars in Oregon and you could see your premiums go up*:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Toyota Camry
- Ford Pickup (full size)
- Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- Subaru Legacy
- Acura Integra
- Toyota Corolla
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Dodge Pickup (full size)
*According to www.nicb.org
Talk To Agents Who Speak Human
Robot friendships may not be that far off in the future, but talking to an agent about car insurance should never feel that way. Our agents are personable people to talk to and expert professionals who can help you find the best rates. Call 855-462-2213 to speak to one of our agents today.
Oregon Driver Resources