Hey, Roughriders. If you’re going to hit the road, you’ll need to know a thing or two about auto insurance laws, minimums, and more. We’ve done the research and designed this guide just for you.
State Requirements For Auto Insurance
First off, you’re living in a no-fault state. That means you’re in charge of paying for your own damages and medical bills in an accident—even if the other driver is at-fault. You’ll have to have the following minimums for liability and uninsured motorist coverage to be legal:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage, per person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage, total per accident
- $25,000 for property damage liability per accident
- $30,000 for personal injury protection
Car Insurance Add-Ons
Just because you’re in good legal standing doesn’t mean you’re 100% covered. If you’re in a 10-car pileup, your damages could sky rocket. Guess who will be footing the bill if you don’t have enough coverage? That’s right, you will. Consider including the following coverage options to make sure you’re protected from the worst case scenarios.
- Collision Coverage – This covers damage if your car gets banged up in an accident
- Comprehensive Coverage – If your car is ruined by a storm or vandal, this coverage can help pay for damages
- Rental Car Coverage– While your car is in the shop after an accident, your insurance company will pay for a rental car if you have this coverage
- Towing and Labor Coverage– You might need a tow after an accident. Have your insurance company cover that cost by having this coverage
How Your Car Insurance Premiums Are Calculated
Risk and premiums go hand-in-hand. If you have a tarnished driving record, your rates will be higher than someone who hasn’t gotten so much as a speeding ticket. Insurance companies look at a number of factors to determine risk/premiums, including:
- Driving/claims record
- Use of your car
- Credit History
- Types of anti-theft devices installed on vehicle
You can help cut down on your premiums by being a safe driver, driving low mileage, living in a safe area, and keeping your claims history clear.
Average Car Insurance Premiums in North Dakota
According to our research, the average North Dakota driver pays just over $1,400 a year for car insurance. Does that mean you have to pay that much? Not necessarily. Here are the cheapest insurance companies on average.
|Average Annual Rates|
|North Dakota Farm Bureau||$763.68|
With rates constantly changing, the best way to ensure you are getting the best rates is to shop around annually. We recommend getting quotes from at least three different companies each year to ensure you have the best policy out there.
Most Stolen Cars in North Dakota*
Tickets make your rates go up and so does driving a car that’s commonly stolen. Here are the top stolen cars in North Dakota so you can decide if driving one is worth the risk.
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- GMC Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Explorer
- Honda Civic
- Chevrolet Impala
- Chevrolet Malibu
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Pontiac Grand Prix
*According to www.nicb.org
Get Expert Advice
Licensed North Dakota agents not only know the ins-and-outs of car insurance, but they can help you find the cheapest rates by providing you quotes from top companies. It doesn’t hurt that they’re actual people too with the ability to talk to you like a friend—rather than confuse you with jargon. Call 855-462-2213 to get started.
Additional Resources for Drivers in North Dakota