New Hampshire Car Insurance Breakdown
With our New Hampshire auto insurance guide, drivers in the Granite State can find everything they need to know in one place. We’ve done our research on state requirements, discounts, average rates, and more to provide you the inside scoop. If you prefer speaking to a real person, call an agent at 855-462-2213 to let them walk you through everything.
The Laws and Requirements
New Hampshire is one of the few states that doesn’t require drivers to maintain auto insurance. Instead, you are only required to prove you have the money—based on state minimums—to cover an accident if you are at-fault. If you go the insurance route, here are the minimums your plan will need to cover for both liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury liability/uninsured/underinsured motorist, per person per accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury liability/uninsured/underinsured motorist,, per accident
- $25,000 for property damage liability/uninsured/underinsured motorist, per accident
- $1,000 in medical payments coverage
If you prove you can cover this financially instead of buying an auto insurance policy, just know that you’ll be spending thousands of your own cash to do so.
More Car Insurance Coverage Options
You don’t have to have auto coverage, but the idea of that makes us shudder. We hope you’ll buy the minimum and then consider adding even more to protect yourself from hefty bills after an accident. Here’s what you can buy:
- Collision Coverage – If your car gets banged up, this insurance can help pay for it.
- Comprehensive Coverage – Hit a deer? Have a vandal ruin your car? This coverage helps foot the bill for those damages.
- Rental Car Coverage– Get this insurance so your insurance company will pay for a car rental if yours isn’t drivable after an accident.
- Towing and Labor Coverage– After an accident, you might need a tow. Without this coverage, you’ll be paying for that yourself.
How New Hampshire Companies Determine Your Auto Insurance Rates
Your premium is a reflection of you. Insurance companies may ask you a number of questions to determine what kind of driver you are and how risky you are to insure. If you’re low-risk, expect lower premiums. If you’re high-risk, you may pay more. Here’s what they’ll need to know:
- Previous insurance coverage
- Make and model of vehicle
- Driving/claims record
- Credit history
What New Hampshire Drivers Pay For Auto Coverage
According to our analysis, the chart below shows the cheapest auto insurance providers on average. If it’s much lower than what you’re currently paying, you should shop around for a cheaper policy.
|Average Annual Rates|
|American National Financial||$804.83|
Because rates are constantly fluctuating, it’s important that you shop around yearly. A good rule of thumb is to get quotes from at least three companies so you can be certain you are getting an affordable premium.
Did You Know?
We don’t want to scare you if you drive one of these top stolen cars, but we have to tell you about it because theft can make your premiums go up. Here’s the list of New Hampshire’s most commonly stolen cars so you can decide if you want to drive one or not*.
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Caravan
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Jeep Cherokee
- Toyota Camry
- Toyota Corolla
- Chevrolet Pickup (Small Size)
Talk To Agents Who Care
Prefer to talk with actual humans who are insurance professionals at the same time? With vast knowledge about New Hampshire auto insurance companies, policies, and laws, licensed agents can help you find the best insurance option for you. Call 855-462-2213 with any additional questions or to start shopping around.
Additional Resources for New Hampshire Drivers