With in-depth research and analysis, we’ve shaken up Maryland car insurance to bring you clear, relevant, and useful information into the laws surrounding insurance coverage. In easy-to-understand terms, you have Maryland’s state requirements, what affects your premiums, and more at your fingertips.
State Requirements for Car Insurance
Maryland is an “at-fault” state, which means that whoever causes an accident pays for the damages. Here are the minimums you’ll need to buy in order to obey the law:
- $30,000 for bodily injury, per one person
- $60,000 for bodily injury, per accident
- $15,000 for property damage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage has to have the same minimums as above
- $2,500 for personal injury protection (PIP)
Unsure of what these limits mean? Check out our glossary of terms.
If you ever needed to file a claim, chances are you wouldn’t complain about having too much insurance. The grumbles come from not having enough. Consider including these additional coverage options to ensure sure you don’t have to pay much out-of-pocket in the case of an emergency.
Collision Coverage – When your car hits another car, this coverage helps pay for the damage.
Comprehensive Coverage – If a storm, vandal, or animal wreaks havoc on your car, this coverage is there to help cover the costs.
Towing and Labor Coverage – Get this coverage if you want to spare yourself from having to pay for a tow after an accident.
Rental Car Coverage – If your car isn’t drivable after an accident, get this insurance so it’ll pay for a rental car.
What Maryland Drivers Pay For Car Insurance
Auto insurance is a steal when you think about the thousands of dollars it covers. You shouldn’t pay more than you have to though. See the average insurance rates from the five cheapest companies, according to our research:
|Average Annual Rates|
Your rates will vary based on your driver profile. See our full review of car insurance costs in Maryland by driver profile to see if you’re in the ballpark of your neighbors.
How Your Rates are Determined
Your premium is a reflection of you. If you’re a risky driver to insure, you’ll pay more. If you’re safer behind the wheel, you’ll most likely pay less. The complicated part is that each insurance company considers different factors as more important for estimating your risks. For example, one company may see a driver with only a GED as higher-risk than a PhD student, but company number two many not use education at all when calculating premiums. Be prepared to answer the following to determine your risk factor/premium:
- Driving/claims record
- Credit score
- Make and model of car
- How your car is used
Insurance For High-Risk Drivers
Created in 1972, the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund was developed to help drivers in Maryland who have been deemed as high-risk drivers, get auto insurance. If you’re having difficulty getting car insurance in the private market, you should consider looking at insurance offered by the MAIF.
Proof of Insurance
To prove you’re insured, you’ll need to have your insurance company send in an FR-19 form. Driving without it? Expect some unpleasantness like:
- You’ll lose your license plates and registration
- You’ll have to pay $150 for the first 30 days of lapsed insurance and $7 a day more after that
- You won’t be allowed to register or re-register your car
- You’ll have to pay up to $1,000 or spend a year in jail for lying about being insured
Did You Know?
Driving one of these commonly stolen cars in Maryland could result a spike in your premiums*:
- Dodge Caravan
- Honda Accord
- Toyota Camry
- Honda Civic
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Nissan Altima
- Toyota Corolla
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Chrysler Town & Country
*According to www.nicb.org
Talk to a Real Person
Sometimes you just need to get on the phone and talk to a real person. Licensed agents who can break it down in human terms are here to help. Call 855-462-2213 to have additional questions answered or to get started comparing insurance quotes in Maryland.