Your auto insurance know-how should be as big as your Derby hats. And now with our guide, it can be. We have all you need to know about Kentucky insurance laws, violations, discounts, and more—so you don’t have to horse around with finding it on your own.

Kentucky Car Insurance Requirements

If you’re a licensed driver in Kentucky,  you’re required to have bodily injury protection and property damage liability coverage—or single limit liability coverage which combines the two. This is to help protect not only other drivers, but yourself as well. Your policy should include no less than the following:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury for one person, in one accident
  • $50,000 in bodily injury for multiple people, in one accident
  • $10,000 in property damage

Add More Coverage For More Protection

The bare minimum is rarely enough–especially when it comes to auto insurance coverage. Consider including the following popular coverage options that can provide additional peace of mind:

Collision Coverage  Dings, dents, and more can be covered by this type of insurance.

Comprehensive Coverage – All the above plus damage from vandalism, fire, and weather can be covered by this type of insurance.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage  Save yourself from paying for another person’s lack of auto coverage by having this insurance.

Rental Car Coverage  Your insurance will pay for a rental car if yours is in the shop after an accident.

Want to know if you are getting enough coverage? Call and speak with a licensed insurance expert at 855-462-2213 .

What Kentuckians Pay For Car Insurance

Curious about what you neighbors spend on the insurance that protects their cars, trucks, and motorcycles? Our research shows that on average, quotes from three cheapest insurance companies is roughly $1,400 a year. Because rates vary based on your age, sex, gender, and more, these premiums are only to be used as a starting point when shopping for car insurance. We recommend comparing quotes from at least three different companies to find the one most affordable for you. Here is where we found the cheapest insurance in Kentucky, based on our data:

 Average Annual Rates
Ameriprise Financial$1,152.17
Pharmacists Mutual$1,499.27
Cincinnati Insurance$1,561.75
Virginia Farm Bureau$1,757.21
CSAA Insurance$1,765.33

Ways You Can Save On Auto Coverage In Kentucky

Don’t shop without comparing prices or checking if you can get discounts. Here are some popular car insurance discounts you might qualify for:

  • Good Student Discount– If you are a full-time student who has maintained a certain academic standard, this discount may be for you.
  • Driver Training Discount– If you are a young driver who has completed and passed a safe driver instruction course in Kentucky, you could get this discount.
  • Auto Safety Device Discount– Do you have anti-lock brakes or other anti-theft devices? You may be eligible for this premium discount.
  • Safe Driver Discount– If you have a clean driving record within a set number of years, you may be eligible to save.

How Insurance Premiums Are Determined

Depending on whether you’re a responsible and risk-free driver, you’ll pay a different price than drivers who are deemed high-risk. In order to determine the risk associated with writing you a policy, insurance companies may use the following information:

  • Driving history
  • Year, make and model of the vehicle
  • Age
  • Gender
  • Address
  • Current use of the vehicle
  • Credit history

Think you can find cheaper auto rates? We do too. Call us at 888-888-8888 to see what’s out there.

Understanding Proof of Insurance

If you can’t provide proof of insurance, you’ll get in trouble. Luckily in Kentucky, they have the KYTC Electronic Verification. It keeps track of your insurance status and prevents uninsured drivers from getting on the road (since you can’t register your car without proof of insurance). In short, it proves you’re insured without you having to carry proof in your vehicle.

Violation and Penalties

If you do drive without insurance, you may face the following penalties:

  • First Offense: Fee up to $1,000
  • Second Offense: Fee up to $2,500

Save yourself a headache by making sure you are properly insured. Have questions regarding your current policies? Talk to a licensed agent today at  855-462-2213 .

Did You Know?

You’re not the only one who can make your premiums go up. Car thieves can too. If you drive one of the following most commonly stolen cars in Kentucky, you could see higher rates*.

  • Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
  • Ford Pickup (Full Size)
  • Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
  • Chevrolet Impala
  • Toyota Camry
  • Chevrolet Pickup
  • Nissan Altima
  • Honda Accord
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Ford Explorer

*According to www.nicb.org

Licensed Agents Are Ready To Help

Call  855-462-2213 to get your questions answered by a real person who knows the ins-and-outs of Kentucky’s laws and requirements. In addition to ensuring you are properly covered, they can also provide you with free quotes from top companies so you can begin comparing providers.

Additional Resources for Kentucky Drivers: