What do Wizard of Oz jokes and car insurance have in common? Kansas drivers get to deal with both of them! We’ve researched and broken down Kansas laws and regulations surrounding auto insurance for you to follow–just like the Yellow Brick Road.
What are Kansas’s auto insurance requirements?
We can’t protect you from wicked witches, but we can help make sure you have sufficient car insurance. Here are the liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorist minimums you’ll need to have on your policy to meet state laws:
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability for one person
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability for multiple people in one accident
- $10,000 in property damage
- $25,000 in uninsured motorist insurance per person
- $50,000 in uninsured motorist insurance per accident
- $4,500 per person for medical costs incurred
- $900 for loss of income
- $4,500 for rehabilitation
- $2,000 for
Can you add more coverage?
You can choose to have the bare minimums, but it’s not always recommended. Consider adding the following coverages to help keep you safe:
- Collision – Hit something or something hit you? This coverage will help pay for damages, it protects you more than having just property damage liability.
- Comprehensive –Take collision coverage and add on damage due to fire, theft, or vandalism. This coverage protects you from mostly everything your car can go through.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist – This type of insurance will protect you from having to pay for damages yourself if the other driver can’t, even when it’s their fault.
- Towing and labor –Add this so you can get help when you break down on the road or if you need a tow after an accident without having to pay a ton.
- Rental car – What do you do if you’re down a vehicle? If you have rental car coverage, your insurance will help pay for a car to keep you on the go.
Don’t get stuck with an insurance policy that doesn’t cover your driving needs. Let an agent help you find an auto policy at [mapi-phone /].
How much do Kansas drivers pay for car insurance?
There’s good news for Kansas drivers. According to our research, Kansas is the 13th least expensive state for car insurance premiums, with average cost being $1,377.34! The most affordable auto insurance rates, according to our data, can be found here:
|Average Annual Rates|
|State Auto Mutual||$1,075.21|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
Car insurance rates change on a yearly base. To make sure you are getting the best price, it’s important to shop around every year comparing quotes from at least three different insurance companies so you can find the best deal.
How are insurance premiums determined?
Insurance companies don’t have crystal balls. In order for them to assess any future risks, they must dive into your driving history and personal profile. The higher the perceived risk, the higher the rates. Being a safe driver, and keeping a clean driving record can help you save money on your auto insurance. Here are aspects they may want to know about you:
- Driving/Claims History
- Age, Make, Model of Vehicle
- Current Driving Habits
- Credit Score
Ways To Lower Your Premium
Want to pay less for car insurance? In Kansas, if you complete a Driver Improvement Clinic through a traffic school, you can receive additional discounts for three years. Consider completing the class every three years to keep the discounts coming. Talk to your local DMV if you are ready to enroll and save.
Rates go up and down all the time. Talk to an agent about the cheapest car insurance quotes out there for you at [mapi-phone /].
What are the penalties for violations in Kansas?
Don’t get into trouble in Kansas because you’re not insured. This is what may happen if you’re caught:
- First Offense: You will be required to pay a fine up to 1,000 or spend up to six months in the county jail. You will also need to pay a $100 registration reinstatement fee.
- Second Offense: You may face a fine up to $2,500 and a $300 registration reinstatement fee.
- Third Offense: If this happens within five years of a previous offense, your driving privileges may be revoked for up to three years!
Did You Know?
Car insurance companies may increase your premiums if you drive a vehicle that is targeted by thieves. Here are the cars that are most commonly stolen in Kansas based on our research*:
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Honda Accord
- Ford Pickup
- Honda Civic
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- GMC Pickup (Full Size)
- Chevrolet Pickup
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Dodge Caravan
- Chevrolet Impala
*According to www.nicb.org
Expert Advice from Skilled Agents
Licensed experts can recite the ins-and-outs of Kansas auto insurance in their sleep. If you have additional questions, or prefer to speak to a real human, call [mapi-phone /].
Additional Resources for Kansas Drivers: