Have questions about the auto insurance requirements in Connecticut? Don’t worry. We’ve combed through the laws and regulations to compile the information you need to keep in mind so you can make smarter auto insurance decisions.
State Requirements for Auto Insurance in Connecticut
No matter the type of car you drive, you will need to make sure it has both liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Connecticut is unique in this way as most states only require minimums for property and bodily injury coverage. Here are the requirements.
- $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) per accident
- $20,000 of person injury protection (PIP) per person, per accident
- $40,00 of personal injury protection (PIP) per accident
- $20,000 per person in uninsured/underinsured coverage
- $40,000 per accident in uninsured/underinsured coverage
Still unclear with what is required? Call 855-462-2213 to hear about what you need from a licensed agent.
More Coverage. Less Worry.
Adding more coverage to your auto insurance policy is your call. The state minimums will keep you legal, but they won’t necessarily cover all the cost if you’re in an accident. Here are types of coverage you can add on to your policy to give you peace of mind:
Comprehensive Coverage – Comprehensive coverage can save the day if you get into an accident, hit an animal on the road, or fall victim to vandalism.
Collision Coverage – If you hit another car or object, collision coverage can help pay for repairs.
Medical and Funeral Services Coverage – Sometimes car accidents result in death or injury. If that happens to you, this type of coverage can help pay for hospital bills and final expenses.
Rental Car Coverage – If your car isn’t drivable after an accident, you can buy this type of coverage so your insurance company will pay for a rental car. Otherwise, you could spend hundreds on a rental while your car is in the shop.
Towing and Labor Coverage – If you need roadside assistance or a tow, this policy add-on can help cover the cost.
How Much Connecticut Drivers Spend On Car Insurance
Insurance rates can differ from person to person depending on the amount of coverage you need and your personal details. We analyzed insurance rates across the state of Connecticut and below is what we found the average person pays a little over $1,500 for car insurance. That doesn’t mean you have to pay that much. According to our research, here are the five cheapest auto insurance companies in Connecticut, on average:
|Average Annual Rates|
Here’s How You Can Save More
If you feel you’re paying too much for car insurance, make sure you are asking your agent about these common discounts. Even if you only qualify for a few you’d be surprised how big of an impact they can have on your premium.
- Good Driver Discount
- Good Student Discount
- Safety Device Discount
- Multi-Car Discount
- Driver Education Discount
- Multi-Policy Discount
- Defensive Driving Discount
- E-Pay Discount
- Claims-Free Discount
Why You Pay What You Do For Auto Insurance
If you’ve ever gone through an insurance quote you know you have to answer a lot of questions. The reason insurance companies ask so many questions is because insurance rates are based on risk and insurance companies build risk profiles based on the questions asked. The less risky an insurance company feels you are, the cheaper your premium will typically be. Expect to be asked about your:
- Type of car you own
- Driving record
- Credit history
- Types of anti-theft devices installed on vehicle
Want a better rate? Let an insurance agent find you the best option out there. Call 855-462-2213 to talk to one now.
What Happens If You Aren’t Insured
If you don’t have proof of insurance if you’re pulled over or are in an accident, here are some of the penalties that can occur:
- First offense: A fine up to $1,000 and one month license suspension
- Second offense: A fine up to $1,000 and a six month license suspension. If your license is taken away, you’ll need to provide proof of insurance to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles to get it back.
Top Stolen Cars In Connecticut
Insurance companies base your premiums on risk. Driving a car that’s stolen more frequently than others may raise that risk and cause you to pay more for your premium. Here is a list of the most stolen cars in Connecticut:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Nissan Maxima
- Acura Integra
- Dodge Caravan
- Nissan Altima
- Toyota Corolla
- Toyota Camry
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
*According to www.nicb.org
Still Have Questions?
With years of experience navigating Connecticut insurance policies, licensed insurance agents have the answers and suggestions you need to find the best policy to meet your needs. Call 855-462-2213 to talk to one today.