We’ve done the research on Pennsylvania state minimums, laws around car insurance, coverage options, and more. If you’re a driver in the City of Brotherly Love, this guide is for you. You can even call [mapi-phone /] to speak to a licensed agent who can also give you the inside scoop on your car insurance needs if you prefer.
What are the state requirements?
Have a car in Pennsylvania? Pennsylvania is a no-fault state—meaning your auto insurance has to pay for all medical bills and damages for the policyholder. You’ll need medical and liability coverage on your policy. Here are the minimums you’ll need:
Pennsylvania Minimum Medical Benefits Requirement: $5,000 of coverage for death or injury in any single accident
Pennsylvania Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements
- $5,000 of coverage in the case of property damage liability per accident
- $15,000 of coverage in the case of bodily injury liability per person, per accident
- $30,000 of coverage in the case of bodily injury total per accident
Right to Sue: In Pennsylvania, you’ll have to choose between full or limited tort liability coverage which allows you to sue another driver through your insurance policy.
- Limited tort is cheaper but only lets you sue for pain and suffering after an accident.
- Full tort is more expensive but lets you sue for damages on top of pain and suffering losses.
What extra coverage can you buy?
Pennsylvania only makes you buy medical and liability coverage—leaving a gaping hole you could fall into if you don’t buy extra coverage. Here are some popular options for you to consider so that you don’t have to pay out-of-pocket if an unexpected incident arises.
- Collision Coverage – If you get into an accident, the dents and damage will be covered by this auto insurance policy.
- Comprehensive Coverage – If a vandal breaks your windows, you hit an animal, or weather ruins your car, this coverage can help pay for it.
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage – After reading this page, we hope no uninsured motorists exist in PA. Get this coverage to prevent yourself from having to pay for damages after an uninsured motorist causes an accident and can’t pay for it themselves.
How to figure out your auto insurance rates?
Do you think your clean driving record warrants as high of a premium as someone’s with DUIs, speeding tickets, and multiple accidents? Nope. Neither does the insurance industry. In order to give you a quote, they will need to determine your risk profile based on a number of factors. The less risky, the lower your premiums can be. The riskier, the higher you could be paying. Here’s what they’ll need to know:
- Driving/claims record
- Driver’s age
- Vehicle make and model
- Purpose of vehicle
- Time spent in vehicle per day
Pennsylvania Car Insurance For High-Risk Drivers
If you are determined to be too much of a risk, auto insurance companies can deny you coverage. The Pennsylvania Assigned Risk Plan (PARP) was created as a secondary option of high-risk drivers. All companies that write insurance in Pennsylvania are required to participate and to cover a percentage of high-risk drivers. While it’s more expensive than car insurance you can obtain in the open market, the PARP ensures you are driving legally if you can’t find coverage elsewhere. Call PennDOT at 1-401-946-2800 or, toll-free, at 1-800-477-6146 to hear more about plans for you.
What Pennsylvanians pay for auto coverage?
Philly compared to rural Lancaster will have different auto insurance premiums, but we’ve done the research to determine the cheapest companies on average for Pennsylvania drivers. Here they are:
|Average Annual Rates
Because your driver profile is a good indication of what you may pay, we have broken down the cheapest car insurance companies in PA for drivers like you.
Does Pennsylvania requires proof of insurance?
If you’re insured, you’ll have an insurance card that is hopefully tucked away in your glove compartment for safe keeping. It should include:
- Automobile information such as make, model, year, and value
- Driver name and name of any other drivers covered by policy
- Expiration date of insurance policy
Insurance Violation Fines and Penalties
Don’t have proof of insurance or car insurance at all? You may face the following consequences if you are caught driving:
- You’ll have to pay a minimum fine of $300 for driving uninsured
- You’ll have to pay an $88 fee to restore your vehicle registration
- You’ll have to pay an $88 fee to restore your driver’s license
Suspended Registration and/or Driver’s License
You can’t register a car without proof of insurance. Once you have your registration, you’ll have to maintain coverage too or it can be taken away for three months. Say your insurance is cancelled—you’ll have to tell PennDOT and get replacement coverage within 31 days and prove you didn’t drive your car during that time.
What are the most commonly stolen cars in Pennsylvania?
Car thieves can impact your rates. If you drive one of these top stolen cars in Pennsylvania, you could see your rates go up:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Toyota Camry
- Jeep (Grand) Cherokee
- Chevy Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Caravan
- Chevy Impala
- Nissan Altima
- Ford Explorer
*According to nicb.org
Changing the way you think about insurance
We understand that sometimes it’s easier to talk to a real person. Calling [mapi-phone /] will get you in touch with licensed insurance experts who are waiting to help answer any of your questions. If you are ready to begin comparing insurance companies, they can also provide you with free quotes from top providers.
Pennsylvania Driver Resources
- Pennsylvania Insurance Department
- Pennsylvania Department of Transportation