Free Insurance Comparison

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Berry

Former Insurance Agent

Former Insurance Agent

Joshua Adamson

Joshua is a copywriter at Obrella who for more than 10 years has been creating content about insurance, health care, and more. He helps companies explain complex insurance subjects in simple ways so that customers can make smart buying decisions. He spends way too much time binge-watching Netflix, loves the outdoors and has a cat who tolerates him.

UPDATED: Mar 3, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Drivers in Nevada want to know what the cheapest coverage is and what they really need. Unfortunately for many, these are two different things. We’ve broken down the intricacies of Nevada car insurance. Whether it’s the state requirements, discounts, driver resources, or more that you are looking for, we have you covered.

What Are Nevada’s Auto Insurance Requirements?

Because Nevada is considered an “at-fault” state, if you’re deemed responsible for causing an accident, you have to have enough coverage to pay for damages and injuries. That is why your insurance policy must include the following minimums:

  • $15,000 bodily injury liability, per one person
  • $30,000 bodily injury liability, per accident in which multiple people sustained injuries
  • $10,000 property damage liability

This type of coverage is only meant to cover the other party. So an experienced insurance agent will likely recommend more extensive property and medical coverage for you. If you have an older car that isn’t worth much, you could probably go without collision and comprehensive property damage coverage. You’d still want personal injury protection or some other type of medical coverage in case you’re injured, though. Liability coverage alone is often the cheapest now, but it could cost you thousands later on.

Going beyond Insurance Laws: What Auto Insurance Coverage Do You Need?

Going with the state minimums is a fine and legal option. Adding more insurance certainly wouldn’t hurt though. It may even be required if you’re financing or leasing your car. Consider the following options so you don’t pay out-of-pocket if something unexpected happens to you.

Collision Coverage – If you knock your car into another car or another car knocks into you, this coverage can help pay for it. Your liability coverage will cover injuries on the other side. PIP generally kicks in for your injuries if you choose it. Collision is for property damage.

Comprehensive Coverage – What if vandals ruin your car or a storm drops a tree branch on it? Comprehensive coverage helps pay for that.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage – People drive around without insurance or not enough of it all the time. If they hit you, the bill’s on you. Get this coverage to prevent having to pay for it yourself.

Rental Car Coverage – Your insurance company can help pay for a rental car if yours is out of commission after an accident.

Towing and Labor Coverage – If you need a tow after an accident, this will help pay for it.

What Do Nevadans Pay For Car Insurance?

According to our research, here are the cheapest insurance companies in Nevada for car insurance:

Average Annual Rates
The Hartford$875.11
Liberty Mutual$1,058.67

Compare RatesStart Now →

If you think you are paying too much, we recommend calling [mapi-phone /] to speak to a licensed agent who can help you compare quotes specific to you.

Read More: Nevada Cheapest Car Insurance

How Are Insurance Premiums Determined?

If a friend who was a notorious spiller asked to borrow your favorite shirt, would you want to lend it to them? Probably not because they are a liability. Insurance companies look at you the same way: as a liability. Based on a set of questions, they’ll be able to determine your risk profile in order to provide you a quote. The higher the risk, the higher your premium may be and vice versa. Here are variables that insurance companies will use:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Address
  • Driving/claims history
  • Age, make, model of your vehicle
  • Credit score

Proof of Insurance In Nevada

It sees you when you’re sleeping and knows when you’re insured. That’s not how the song goes, but the Nevada LIVE (Liability Insurance Validation Electronically) is a program that Nevada law enforcement uses to make sure your insurance is up to date. If it’s not, they’ll know about it and so will you. Expect to get a letter in the mail giving you 15 days to respond with proof of insurance if you aren’t insured.

You’ll also need to carry your insurance card with you in case you get into an accident or are pulled over. It’ll have this information on it:

  • Vehicle information number
  • The dates the policy is effective and the date of its expiration
  • Your name and driver’s license number

Violations and Penalties

Nevada is strict on uninsured drivers. If you’re caught driving without it, here are the penalties you may face:

First Offense:

  • You’ll have to pay a $250 reinstatement fee
  • If insurance has a lapse greater than 30 days, you may face a fine up to $1,000
  • If insurance has a lapse greater than 90 days, you will be required to maintain insurance under the SR-22 standard

Second Offense:

  • You’ll have to pay a $500 reinstatement fee
  • If insurance has a lapse greater than 30 days, you may face a fine up to $1,000
  • If insurance has a lapse greater than 90 days, you will be required to maintain insurance under the SR-22 standard

Third Offense:

  • You’ll have to pay a $750 reinstatement fee
  • If insurance has a lapse greater than 30 days, you may face a fine up to $1,000
  • You will automatically be required to maintain insurance under the SR-22 standard
  • Your license will be suspended for at least 30 days.


  • If you’re not insured and get into an accident that causes $750 or more in damages, your license will be suspended right away.

Read more: Getting Insurance With A Suspended License: What You Need To Know

Most Commonly Stolen Cars in Nevada*

Remember how we said risk makes your car insurance go up? If you drive one of these top stolen cars in Nevada, you could see higher rates due to the risk of driving a vehicle targeted by thieves.

  • Honda Accord
  • Honda Civic
  • Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
  • Ford Pickup (Full Size)
  • Toyota Camry
  • Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
  • Nissan Altima
  • Nissan Sentra
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Saturn SI

*According to

Talk To Agents Who Talk Like Humans

Talking to a robot should be left to the Jetsons. It’s no way to feel when you’re talking to someone who is in charge of getting you a policy that protects you, your belongings, and your finances. Licensed agents are ready to help you determine how much car insurance you need and more. Call [mapi-phone /] to speak with one now.

Additional Resources for Nevada Drivers

Free Insurance Comparison

Enter your zip code below to view companies that have cheap insurance rates.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption