Let us show you the better side of insurance with our easy to understand breakdown of Michigan auto insurance laws, minimums, discounts and more.
Michigan’s Car Insurance Minimums
Michigan is a “no-fault” state. This means that if you are injured in a car accident, your insurance company will pay your medical bills up to your policy’s limits, regardless of who caused the accident. That is why, Michigan drivers are required to have liability insurance, personal injury protection, and property protection insurance. Make sure you have the right amount included on your insurance policy, so you can avoid steep fines and penalties.
Liability Insurance: Get bodily injury liability and property damage liability and you’ll have satisfied part of Michigan’s requirement. This insurance will help pay for injuries or car damage that resulted from an accident in which you are deemed to be at fault. Get the following minimums to make sure you comply with the law:
- $20,000 for injuries to one person, per accident
- $40,000 for injuries to multiple people, per one accident
- $10,000 for damage done to property per accident
Personal Injury Protection: Think about what would happen if you got into an accident. Would you be able to afford medical care on your own? This type of coverage helps pay for medical bills in any accident and up to $5,189 a month in lost wages.
Property Protection Insurance: This coverage is to pay for damages to caused to your vehicle. You can buy up to $1 million in coverage in Michigan.
Additional Michigan Car Insurance You Can Buy
If you are in an accident and your bills exceed the minimum liability amounts, you may save yourself from paying out-of-pocket with the following additional coverages.
- Collision Coverage – If your car smashes into something, this coverage can help pay for it. There are three kinds to choose from in Michigan, including:
- Limited Collision Coverage- If you are less than 50% responsible for an accident, limited coverage will pay for repairs.
- Standard Collision Coverage- Regardless if you are more or less than 50% at fault, standard coverage can pay for all costs, except your deductible.
- Broad Form Collision Coverage– If you are more than 50% at fault, broad form coverage will pay for damages. If you are less than 50% at fault, you won’t have to pay for damages or your deductible.
- Comprehensive Coverage – Comprehensive throws in coverage in case you hit an animal, a tree falls on your car, or a slew of other bad things happen.
Not sure if you have enough coverage or know you want to include more? Talk to an agent who would be happy to help get you the coverage you need at 855-462-2213 .
How Much Drivers In Michigan Pay For Auto Insurance
In 2012, Detroit was named the most expensive city for auto insurance, and Michigan as a whole came in 7th for America’s highest premiums. Rates have fluctuated since then, but according to our research it still is one of the more expensive states to buy auto insurance coverage, with average annual premiums being $1,965.46. Here are the five cheapest providers and their average premiums, regardless of driver profile:
|Average Annual Rates|
Compare prices in our full list of the most affordable car insurance companies in Michigan.
How Insurance Rates Are Determined
Insurance companies can’t predict the future, but use risk indicators to try to assess how much risk they are taking on by writing you on as a policy holder. Some may put a heavy emphasis on the the drivers credit history, others may focus primarily on the age of the driver when pricing a policy. Long story short, insurance companies have their own unique equation to pricing policies. Here are a few of the factors insurance companies may consider when pricing a policy for you:
- Driving/claims record
- Credit score
- Make and model of car
- How car is used
- Amount of time car is used per day
- Available Discounts
Want to find a cheaper auto insurance policy? Let a licensed agent help. Call 855-462-2213 to talk quotes now.
The Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF)
Everyone needs auto insurance. It’s the law in Michigan. The Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility was created to guarantee every driver the ability to get insured. If you’re a high risk driver, this legislation makes it illegal for car insurance companies to deny you coverage based on your driving histry. You can always find a policy to protect yourself and car.
Michigan Violations and Fines*
Falsifying insurance is a big reason why Michigan’s car insurance rates are so high. In 2013, the Michigan Department of State realized that 9% of the seven million registered vehicles where registered using fake or fraudulent insurance certificates.
You can probably guess that Michigan is pretty tough on drivers without insurance because of this. They have The Fighting Auto Insurance Rip-Offs (FAIR) Task Force to crack down on uninsured drivers and fees that punish those who are caught, including:
- Fines up to $500
- Up to one year of jail time
- Up to 30 days of license suspension until you can prove you’re actually insured.
Did You Know*
Car theft can increase your rates significantly. In Michigan, your premiums might be higher if you drive one of these commonly stolen cars:
- Chevrolet Impala
- Dodge Caravan
- Ford Fusion
- Ford Taurus
- Chevrolet Malibu
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Pontiac Grand Prix
- Ford Explorer
*According to www.nicb.org
Work with Licensed Agents
You don’t have to figure out insurance on your own. Licensed agents who are experts when it comes to Michigan car insurance requirements can help ensure you have a policy that meets both state requirements and your driving needs. Call 855-462-2213 to talk to an agent who is ready to help.
Additional Resources for Michigan Drivers