Annoyed by Illinois car insurance shopping? We’re here to fix that, pronto! Not only have we compiled all the information you need to know about state minimums, laws, and much more (you’re welcome), but we have agents who will happily walk you through it too. Read about it below to get all the facts or call an expert at [mapi-phone /].
What Are The Auto Insurance Requirements in Illinois?
The law is the law. In Illinois, you have to have certain minimums on your auto insurance policy to abide by it. In the great state of Illinois, your auto insurance policy has to hold the following coverage amounts:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Insurance
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 total per accident
What Additional Car Insurance Coverage Can You Get in Illinois?
We’ve told you the minimum requirements by law in Illinois, but the bare minimum is rarely a good enough if you get into an accident. If the other party’s damages exceed your liability limits, you could end up responsible for the rest. Even if your limits are high enough, liability only covers the other party. So you’d be responsible for your own auto repairs and medical costs.
We recommend you put more protection on your auto plan by upping the following coverage categories:
Collision Coverage – Smashing into an object with your car is generally going to leave a few marks. This type of coverage can help pay for damages directly caused by a collision.
Comprehensive Coverage – Your car can be totaled or otherwise damaged without ever being in an accident. Fire, flood, falling trees, animals in the road, and many other things can cause serious damage leading to a claim. Comprehensive coverage is designed to cover these things.
Medical Payments Coverage –Your car may take a beating during an accident, but so can you, your passengers, and the other people involved. This coverage pays for medical bills and even funeral expenses in the awful case that they’re needed.
Towing – Have you ever found yourself stuck on the side of the road with a flat tire? Maybe you ran out of gas or something else. You could try calling a two truck on your own, which could cost you hundreds of dollars. Towing coverage could be just a few dollars per renewal period, and you’ll have coverage to get you back on the road.
Rental Car – When your car is damaged, it could be in the shop for weeks at a time. Even to assess the damage, repair shops might take a few days, and you still have things to do. Rental coverage gets you a car for up to 30 days generally speaking to get around after an auto accident.
What Do Drivers Pay for Motor Vehicle Insurance In Illinois?
These prices aren’t too shabby. Less expensive than most states, you Illinoisans will be able to get a lot of auto coverage for your buck. Take a look to see how your premiums compares to rates offered by the most affordable car insurance companies in Illinois, based on our research.
What Are The Car Insurance Options for High-Risk Drivers?
Have a bunch of tickets, DUIs, and other infractions on your driving record? You’ve probably been punished enough with fines and maybe even jail time. Illinois makes sure insurance companies can’t punish you further by denying you coverage under the Illinois Automobile Insurance Plan (ILAIP). You’re eligible if you:
- Have been turned down for car insurance
- Possess a valid Illinois driver’s license or are eligible to apply for valid Illinois driver’s license
- Don’t have any outstanding premiums owed to an insurance company (in the past 36 months)
- Drive a car that is safe to operate
Of course, infractions will fall off your record over time. Until they do, you can stay on the road.
Violations and Penalties Information
We hope you don’t need this, but in case you can’t prove you’re insured, expect this bad stuff to happen to you:
- Your license plates will be suspended
- To reinstate your plates, you must provide proof of valid insurance and pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
Insurance Companies Can Cancel Your Policies
The first 60 days of your insurance policy are shaky. Illinois car insurance companies are allowed to cancel your policy during that time for practically any reason. Once the 60 days are over, they can only cancel if you:
- Violate of policy terms
- Fail to pay premiums
- Submitted false information to get your policy
Pay your premiums or you’ll get a letter 10 days before your insurance drops you. Abide by the law or you’ll get a cancellation notice 30 days before it expires. Either way, you’ll have to scramble a bit to find another policy and that’s never any fun.
Did You Know?
Vehicles that are more likely to be stolen can increase your auto insurance rates. That is why car alarms need to work overtime to protect Illinois most stolen cars, including*:
- Dodge Caravan
- Honda Civic
- Honda Accord
- Chevrolet Impala
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Chevrolet Pickup (full size)
- Nissan Altima
- Chevrolet Malibu
- Toyota Camry
- Nissan Maxima
Drive one of these? Don’t panic. Now you know and can up your insurance in case a thief makes off with your ride. You could consider another model too because high risk factors can make your premium go up and cars that are stolen frequently will definitely make your insurance company think twice about rates.
According to www.nicb.org
Work With Our Expert Agents
Still have questions about insurance rates, Illinois insurance laws, or any other auto insurance questions? You’re in luck! Insurance agents can help you get the best auto insurance policy. Call [mapi-phone /] to receive help through the process of purchasing an insurance policy that meets your needs.
Additional Illinois Resources: