We compiled all the Arkansas car insurance requirements information you need to know to help protect you when you’re on the road.
What are the minimum coverages required in Arkansas?
If you remember anything, it should be these three words: minimum liability coverage. That’s the amount of insurance you’ll need to abide by the law. If you forget and don’t add the right amount to your insurance policy, you could face steep fines and penalties or worse have to pay out-of-pocket after an accident or incident. To avoid any consequences, ensure you have the minimum coverage amounts listed below:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury, per accident when multiple people are injured
- $25,000 for total property damage
Call [mapi-phone /] to talk to an insurance agent and ensure you have the proper amount of liability insurance, and remember, these are just the required coverage limits.
Liability insurance only covers damages to another party. You will need collision coverage for your own damages to be paid for after an accident. It’s a good idea to invest in more types of coverage as well, such as personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. If you don’t have uninsured motorist coverage, you could end up paying thousands of dollars out of pocket after an accident.
What is the average cost of auto coverage in Arkansas?
Auto insurance rates differ from person to person and so does the amount of coverage you need. We analyzed insurance rates from the five largest cities for a number of driver profiles and found the average insurance rates over the past few years are on the rise. Here is how much you may pay for auto coverage with the most affordable companies in Arkansas.
|Average Annual Rate|
|Wisconsin Re Grp||$591.00|
|United Home Insurance||$645.83|
Get Your Rates Quote Now
How much will you pay for your Arkansas car insurance premiums?
Every person is different and so is every company. Finding the most affordable insurance in Arkansas will ultimately depend on the factors companies use to determine your risk level. While Arkansas insurance companies use the same factors, they weigh them differently so one quote from one insurance carrier can be drastically different from another. When going through a quoting process companies will likely ask you about the following:
- Car’s make and model of vehicle
- Driving history
- Credit score
- Marital status
- If you have had a lapse in coverage
- If you own/rent a home
Those with a clean driving record will find it significantly easier to find cheap car insurance than drivers who have racked up a lot of infractions, and rates for drivers with poor credit will be much higher than rates for those with good credit. Request an auto insurance quote from multiple companies to find the cheapest car insurance.
How can you save with discounts?
Arkansas insurance agencies are all unique, but most offer discounts that you may be able to qualify for. When you’re shopping for an auto policy, ensure you ask an agent about some of these common insurance discounts:
- Good Student Driver
- Defensive Driver Discount
- Safe Driver Discount
- Multi-Policy Discount
- New Car Discount
- Multi-Car Discount
- Claims-Free Discount
- Green Car Discount
Auto insurance companies vary in the types of discounts they offer, so if you’re not finding the insurance discounts you need with your current insurance provider, make sure to shop around.
How can you show proof of insurance?
Once you have chosen an insurance policy, the next thing you’ll need to do is put that piece of paper (your insurance card) into your glove box and never take it out. Cops will need to see it if you’re pulled over or are in an auto accident. If you don’t have proof of insurance or insurance at all you can expect the following repercussions:
- First Offense: Expect to pay a $50-$250 fine and have your license suspended. You’ll have to spend $20 to get your license back once you prove you’re insured.
- Second Offense: This will cost you $250-$500 in fees and your license will be taken away.
- Third Offense: You’ll get a $500-$1,000 fine, suspended license, and you could even spend up to one year behind bars!
If you need your license reinstated, contact the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration.
Did You Know?
If you own or lease any of the following cars, then you may have more in common with thieves than you thought. We only say that because this is the list of the top stolen cars in Arkansas and if you drive one, your monthly premium could go up.
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)
- Ford Pickup (Full Size)
- Dodge Pickup (Full Size)
- Nissan Sentra
- Nissan Altima
- Toyota Camry
- Nissan Standard Body Pickup
- Nissan Maxima
*According to www.nicb.org
Still Have Questions?
If something still doesn’t make sense or if you think your paying too much, call [mapi-phone /] to talk to an agent.
Additional Arkansas Resources